Skip to content

Conference programme

June 18, 2013

We’re only about a month away from our Challenging Memories: Silence & Empathy in Heritage Intepretation conference and we’re looking forward to meeting you all at Buckfast Abbey.  You’ll be pleased to know that the provisional programme is now available for download from the link below.  Please note this programme is provisional and may change.

Provisional Programme_ Challenging Memories

Those of you that take a look at the programme and would like to come but haven’t booked yet (what are you waiting for?) have until 30th June when booking closes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. carolecpc99999 permalink
    June 25, 2013 9:16 pm

    I am looking forward to the conference but I am aware that I have neglected this site and I want to make up for it.
    This is a personal anecdote but it relates to several of the themes that we have been considering.
    My mother died in 2011. All my life, I have been aware that she had an uncle (my great-uncle) who was killed at Passchendaele. My mother always told me that his body was not found until 1920 and that he was identified by the tag round his neck. Recently, I happened to mention this to my mother’s half-sister (my aunt) who denies all knowledge of the story. Equally, she has no knowledge of the wounding of her father (my grandfather) in the same battle. I clearly remember seeing the bullet wounds on my grandfather’s arm.
    Obviously, such details can be checked. However, is it possible that silence can be selective?
    Memory can be selective but, in this case, whose memory?
    Whatever the truth is, the whole episode is very unsettling.
    Carole

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

